Mom With Kids After Run
  • On Aug 6, 2012
    Tina from WA Asked

    We booked our WDW trip w/ a Disney Auth Trav Agent for later this month (2 rooms). Around 80+ days out we had to change one of the names on our res. When we got our final docs I noticed ins. was $70 more for that room. Should there have been an increase?

    Hi Tina,

    In my experience, there should not have been an up charge for simply changing a name on a reservation. I can think of three possible explanations:

    - There is often a $10 per person per day surcharge if more than two adults are in a room. Perhaps instead of changing names, the transaction was made in error to add a name. This may have made it look like there were more adults in your party, resulting in a fee.

    - If the entire reservation were cancelled and then rebooked with new names, then some price change may have happened with the room since it was first booked.

    - The bill you're looking at has the tax added, while your original quote did not include the tax.

    There may be other explanations that I haven't considered. My advice to call your travel agent an inquire about the price difference. She may have that information readily available. If you're not satisfied, try calling Disney directly at 407-W-DISNEY and they may have other details for you.

    Good luck getting everything sorted out. Let us know if you need anything else.

thumbnail image for Erin

Meet the Panelist: Erin, New York

I have three teenage daughters. We're DVC members obsessed with Disney travel. We've been to Walt Disney World countless times and have visited Disneyland & Disneyland Paris. We've taken several Adventures by Disney and Disney Cruise trips. Learn More About Erin

Didn't find what you were looking for?

To submit your question, please sign in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.
x

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.


Or you can continue browsing without updating.